Great South Destination

This hiking tour will take you to the rural world of the highlands. Meeting with a welcoming and warm population from village to village. Further south we cross the Andringitra Park and its lunar landscapes and then the Isalo Park with its canyons drowned in vegetation and its ruinous landscapes.

  • Itineraries
  • Dates and prices
  • Notes
  • Day 1

    • ANTANANARIVO
    arrow_drop_up arrow_drop_down
    Arrival in Antananarivo, welcome by our team. Transfer to the hotel and presentation of your program.
    • Breakfast
    • Lunch
    • Dîner
    • Accomodation
    • Activity
    • Photo
  • Day 2

    • ANTANANARIVO
    • 170 km about 4 h
    • ANTSIRABE
    arrow_drop_up arrow_drop_down
    Departure for Antsirabe 170 km from Antananarivo. Crossing the landscapes of the high plateaus by taking a winding road lined with small waterfalls extending the view on rice paddies arranged in terraces. We pass by Ambatolampy the city of artisanal foundries: visit a small factory of aluminium pots. Arrival in the afternoon in the water city. Visit of the city with its multicolored rickshaws, its craftsmen working the horn of zebus...
    • Breakfast
    • Lunch
    • Dîner
    • Accomodation
    • Activity
    • Photo
  • Day 3

    • ANTSIRABE
    • TREKKING HAUTES TERRES
    arrow_drop_up arrow_drop_down
    Two days of hiking to discover the rural life of the farmers of Vakinakaratra through a landscape typical of the countryside of the Highlands: fields of rice fields, typical villages with their small traditional house,... we will discover their daily life, their rice growing,... Visit the villages of blacksmiths according to the seasons. Nights in a cottage in the villages (type in the inhabitants).
    • Breakfast
    • Lunch
    • Dîner
    • Accomodation
    • Activity
    • Photo
  • Day 4

    • TREKKING HAUTES TERRES
    arrow_drop_up arrow_drop_down
    Two days of hiking to discover the rural life of the farmers of Vakinakaratra through a landscape typical of the countryside of the Highlands: fields of rice fields, typical villages with their small traditional house,... we will discover their daily life, their rice growing,... Visit the villages of blacksmiths according to the seasons. Nights in a cottage in the villages (type in the inhabitants).
    • Breakfast
    • Lunch
    • Dîner
    • Accomodation
    • Activity
    • Photo
  • Day 5

    • BETAFO
    • 257 km about 7 h
    • FIANARANTSOA
    arrow_drop_up arrow_drop_down
    We take the road towards Ambositra, stop in the capital Zafimaniry to visit some workshops specialized in marquetry and precious wood carvings. Free lunch then continuation to Fianarantsoa. A short walk at the end of the day allows you to discover the city, its religious buildings, its century-old houses, its narrow streets and its lively staircases that wind between the houses... to finish at the top of the hill and admire the view of the city and its surroundings.
    • Breakfast
    • Lunch
    • Dîner
    • Accomodation
    • Activity
    • Photo
  • Day 6

    • FIANARANTSOA
    • AMBALAVAO
    • 4 to 5 h
    • 100 km about 4 h
    • ANDRINGITRA
    arrow_drop_up arrow_drop_down
    Road to Ambalavao. We visit a traditional Antemoro paper factory. Then we continue further south to reach the foothills of the Andringitra massif. Accompanied by our porters and our guide, we cross a primary forest, discover a cave and sacred waterfalls with their myths.
    • Breakfast
    • Lunch
    • Dîner
    • Accomodation
    • Activity
    • Photo
  • Day 7

    • 5 to 7 h
    • ANDRINGITRA
    arrow_drop_up arrow_drop_down
    We resume the walk by climbing up to 2100 meters in the middle of a meadow of wild mountain flowers. Panoramic view of the whole lunar landscape. For those who wish, it is possible to climb to Pic Boby at 2658 meters, then go down to the camp at the 2100 meters point.
    • Breakfast
    • Lunch
    • Dîner
    • Accomodation
    • Activity
    • Photo
  • Day 8

    • 5 to 7 h
    • ANDRINGITRA
    arrow_drop_up arrow_drop_down
    We go down on the plateau in a beautiful botanical landscape, endemic bird species, reptiles...
    • Breakfast
    • Lunch
    • Dîner
    • Accomodation
    • Activity
    • Photo
  • Day 9

    • ANDRINGITRA
    • 4 to 5 h
    • TSARANORO
    arrow_drop_up arrow_drop_down
    We continue the descent to 850 meters to reach the Tsaranoro valley to the west of the massif and its impressive granite dome. Picnic lunch. Arrival at Camp Catta at the end of the day. Dinner and overnight in a camp.
    • Breakfast
    • Lunch
    • Dîner
    • Accomodation
    • Activity
    • Photo
  • Day 10

    • TSARANORO
    • 234 km about 5 h
    • RANOHIRA
    arrow_drop_up arrow_drop_down
    We take the car back to Ranohira and the Isalo Park. We are entering Bara country, a people of Zebus breeders. Lunch along the way then cross the huge semi-desert plateau of Horombe. Arrival in Ranohira in the early evening.
    • Breakfast
    • Lunch
    • Dîner
    • Accomodation
    • Activity
    • Photo
  • Day 11

    • 5 to 6 h
    • RANOHIRA
    arrow_drop_up arrow_drop_down
    Accompanied by guides and porters, we explore the Isalo Park: discovery of its massive ruiniform massifs, an exceptional fauna and flora of its deep canyons with lush vegetation... Swimming in natural pools... Lunch. Dinner and overnight in bivouac.
    • Breakfast
    • Lunch
    • Dîner
    • Accomodation
    • Activity
    • Photo
  • Day 12

    • 5 to 6 h
    • RANOHIRA
    arrow_drop_up arrow_drop_down
    Accompanied by guides and porters, we explore the Isalo Park: discovery of its massive ruiniform massifs, an exceptional fauna and flora of its deep canyons with lush vegetation... Swimming in natural pools... Lunch.
    • Breakfast
    • Lunch
    • Dîner
    • Accomodation
    • Activity
    • Photo
  • Day 13

    • RANOHIRA
    • 234 km about 4 h
    • TULEAR
    arrow_drop_up arrow_drop_down
    Last walk to reach our vehicle and then take the road to Tulear. Crossing the village of Ilakaka, which was built in 3 months after the discovery of the world's largest sapphire vein. Then the road crosses savannah landscapes and we discover the first baobabs. Arrival in Tulear, visit of the city and its market. Dinner and overnight in a hotel.
    • Breakfast
    • Lunch
    • Dîner
    • Accomodation
    • Activity
    • Photo
  • Day 14

    • TULÉAR
    • ANTANANARIVO
    arrow_drop_up arrow_drop_down
    Transfer to the airport and flight to Antananarivo. Reception and assistance for international correspondence.
    • Breakfast
    • Lunch
    • Dîner
    • Accomodation
    • Activity
    • Photo

Destination Grand Sud

Ce circuit randonnée vous emmènera dans le monde rural des hautes terres. Rencontre avec une population accueillante et chaleureuse de village en village. Plus au sud nous traversons en itinérance le parc de l’Andringitra et ses paysages lunaire puis le parc de l’Isalo avec ses canyons noyés dans la végétation et ses paysages ruiniforme.

  • Itinéraires
  • Dates et prix
  • A noter
  • Jour 1

    • ANTANANARIVO
    arrow_drop_up arrow_drop_down
    Arrivée à Antananarivo, accueil par notre équipe. Transfert à l’hôtel et présentation de votre programme.
    • Petit déjeuner
    • Déjeuner
    • Diner
    • Accomodation
    • Activity
    • Photo
  • Jour 2

    • ANTANANARIVO
    • 170 km environ 4 h
    • ANTSIRABE
    arrow_drop_up arrow_drop_down
    Départ pour Antsirabe à 170 km d’Antananarivo. Traversée des paysages des hautes plateaux en empruntant une route sinueuse bordée de petites cascades étendant la vue sur des tapis de rizières disposées en terrasses. Nous passons par Ambatolampy la cité des fonderies artisanales : visite d’une petite fabrique de marmites en aluminium. Arrivée dans l’après-midi dans la ville d’eau. Visite de la ville avec ses pousses-pousses multicolores, ses artisans travaillant la corne de zébus...
    • Petit déjeuner
    • Déjeuner
    • Diner
    • Accomodation
    • Activity
    • Photo
  • Jour 3

    • ANTSIRABE
    • TREKKING HAUTES TERRES
    arrow_drop_up arrow_drop_down
    Deux jours de randonnées à la découverte de la vie rurale des paysans de Vakinakaratra à travers un paysage typique des campagnes des Hautes Terres : des champs de rizières, des villages typiques avec leur petite maison traditionnelle, …. nous découvrirons leur quotidien, leur riziculture, … Visite des villages de forgerons suivant les saisons.Nuits en gîte dans les villages (type chez l’habitant).
    • Petit déjeuner
    • Déjeuner
    • Diner
    • Accomodation
    • Activity
    • Photo
  • Jour 4

    • TREKKING HAUTES TERRES
    arrow_drop_up arrow_drop_down
    Deux jours de randonnées à la découverte de la vie rurale des paysans de Vakinakaratra à travers un paysage typique des campagnes des Hautes Terres : des champs de rizières, des villages typiques avec leur petite maison traditionnelle, …. nous découvrirons leur quotidien, leur riziculture, … Visite des villages de forgerons suivant les saisons.Nuits en gîte dans les villages (type chez l’habitant).
    • Petit déjeuner
    • Déjeuner
    • Diner
    • Accomodation
    • Activity
    • Photo
  • Jour 5

    • BETAFO
    • 257 km environ 7 h
    • FIANARANTSOA
    arrow_drop_up arrow_drop_down
    Nous prenons la route en direction d’Ambositra, arrêt dans la capitale Zafimaniry pour visiter quelques ateliers spécialisés dans la marqueterie et les sculptures sur bois précieux. Déjeuner libre puis continuation sur Fianarantsoa. Une petite balade à pieds en fin de journée permet de découvrir la ville, ses edifices religieux, ses maisons centenaires, ses ruelles et ses escaliers pleins de vie qui serpentent entre les maisons … pour finir au sommet de la colline et admirer la vue sur la ville et ses environs.
    • Petit déjeuner
    • Déjeuner
    • Diner
    • Accomodation
    • Activity
    • Photo
  • Jour 6

    • FIANARANTSOA
    • AMBALAVAO
    • 4 à 5 h
    • 100 km environ 4 h
    • ANDRINGITRA
    arrow_drop_up arrow_drop_down
    Route pour Ambalavao. Nous visitons une fabrique artisanale de papier Antemoro. Puis nous continuons plus au Sud pour atteindre le contrefort du massif de l’Andringitra. Accompagnés de nos porteurs et de notre guide, nous traversons une forêt primaire, découverte d’une grotte et des chutes d’eau sacrées avec leurs mythes.
    • Petit déjeuner
    • Déjeuner
    • Diner
    • Accomodation
    • Activity
    • Photo
  • Jour 7

    • 5 à 7 h
    • ANDRINGITRA
    arrow_drop_up arrow_drop_down
    Nous reprenons la marche en montant jusqu’à 2100 mètres au milieu d’une prairie de fleurs sauvages de montagne. Vue panoramique sur l’ensemble de ce paysage lunaire. Pour ceux qui le désirent possibilité de monter jusqu’au Pic Boby à 2658 mètres, puis redescente au campement au point des 2100 mètres.
    • Petit déjeuner
    • Déjeuner
    • Diner
    • Accomodation
    • Activity
    • Photo
  • Jour 8

    • 5 à 7 h
    • ANDRINGITRA
    arrow_drop_up arrow_drop_down
    Nous redescendons sur le plateau dans un beau paysage botanique, des espèces d’oiseaux endémiques, des reptiles, …
    • Petit déjeuner
    • Déjeuner
    • Diner
    • Accomodation
    • Activity
    • Photo
  • Jour 9

    • ANDRINGITRA
    • 4 à 5 h
    • TSARANORO
    arrow_drop_up arrow_drop_down
    Nous continuons la descente jusqu’à 850 mètres pour rejoindre la vallée de Tsaranoro à l’ouest du massif et ses impressionnants dôme granitique. Déjeuner pique-nique. Arrivée au Camp Catta en fin de journée. Dîner et nuit en campement.
    • Petit déjeuner
    • Déjeuner
    • Diner
    • Accomodation
    • Activity
    • Photo
  • Jour 10

    • TSARANORO
    • 234 km environ 5 h
    • RANOHIRA
    arrow_drop_up arrow_drop_down
    Nous reprenons la voiture pour rejoindre Ranohira et le parc de l’Isalo. Nous entrons en pays Bara peuple d’éleveurs des Zébus. Déjeuner en cours de route puis traversons l’immense plateau semi-désertique de Horombe. Arrivée à Ranohira en début de soirée.
    • Petit déjeuner
    • Déjeuner
    • Diner
    • Accomodation
    • Activity
    • Photo
  • Jour 11

    • 5 à 6 h
    • RANOHIRA
    arrow_drop_up arrow_drop_down
    Accompagnés de guide et porteurs, nous explorons le parc de l’Isalo : découverte de ses massifs ruiniformes, une faune et flore exceptionnelles de ses profonds canyons à la végétation luxuriante…Baignade dans des piscines naturelles….Déjeuner. Dîner et nuit en bivouac.
    • Petit déjeuner
    • Déjeuner
    • Diner
    • Accomodation
    • Activity
    • Photo
  • Jour 12

    • 5 à 6 h
    • RANOHIRA
    arrow_drop_up arrow_drop_down
    Accompagnés de guide et porteurs, nous explorons le parc de l’Isalo : découverte de ses massifs ruiniformes, une faune et flore exceptionnelles de ses profonds canyons à la végétation luxuriante…Baignade dans des piscines naturelles….Déjeuner.
    • Petit déjeuner
    • Déjeuner
    • Diner
    • Accomodation
    • Activity
    • Photo
  • Jour 13

    • RANOHIRA
    • 234 km environ 4 h
    • TULEAR
    arrow_drop_up arrow_drop_down
    Denière marche pour rejoindre notre véhicule puis prenons la route pour Tuléar. Traversée du village d’Ilakaka, qui s’est construit en 3 mois après la dévcouverte du plus gros filon de saphir au monde. Puis la route traverse des paysages de savanes et l’on découverte des premiers baobabs. Arrivée à Tuléar, visite de la ville et de son marché. Diner et nuit en hôtel.
    • Petit déjeuner
    • Déjeuner
    • Diner
    • Accomodation
    • Activity
    • Photo
  • Jour 14

    • TULÉAR
    • ANTANANARIVO
    arrow_drop_up arrow_drop_down
    Transfert à l’aéroport et envol à destination d’Antananarivo. Accueil et assistance pour la correspondance internationale.
    • Petit déjeuner
    • Déjeuner
    • Diner
    • Accomodation
    • Activity
    • Photo