Going Down the Manambolo River : From Adventures to discoveries

Some 130 km south of the capital Antananarivo,on the highlands the Manambolo river runs through one of the most well-known places of Madagascar, the famous Tsingy de Bemaraha. The erosion that over the years has dug the bed of the river is also at the origin of the singular form of Tsingys. They offer cultural treasure as well as a great biodiversity where amateur photographers can enjoy themselves.

What to see and where to go ?

The river Manambolo is full of life at all depths. To go along the river, canoeing is the means of transport par excellence. It allows navigating gently to the rhythm of the river stream and paddles. We meet paddlers, fruits and vegetables vendors, children who play in the sandbars and everywhere birds and other endemic animals with a flora and surprising and still wild vegetation, such as pandanus, pachypodiums…

At the approach of the Tsingys, the river tightens and you can see limestone canyons where sheltering here and there the caves of the Oliha cliff side where rest the Vazimba, the Malagasy ancestors.

On the banks of the river, small waterfalls and natural pools are abundant in the vegetation providing a welcome freshness.

Going there : Because of the rainy season that can cause floods, the river Manambolo is only practicable from May to November. The period from June to mid-September is definitely the perfect time.

The descent is made by canoe and camping four days and three nights alongside the river.

And more :The descent of the Manambolo is certainly the flagship circuit of Madcameleon Agency which he is the expert. Take advantage of this descent to contribute to sustainable tourism in the village of Akavandra from which paddlers, cooks, local guides trained by the Agency come from.[/vc_column_text][/vc_column][/vc_row]

Le fleuve Manambolo : De l’aventure à la découverte

Sur les hautes terres à quelques 130 km au sud de la Capitale Antananarivo, la rivière Manambolo traverse un des endroits les plus connus de Madagascar, les fameux Tsingy de Bemaraha. L’érosion qui au fil des années a creusé le lit de la rivière est aussi à l’origine de la forme si singulière des tsingys. Elles recèlent de trésor culturel ainsi que d’une grande biodiversité où les photographes amateurs pourront s’en donner à cœur joie.

Que faire et à quel moment y aller ?

Le fleuve de la Manambolo regorge de vie. Pour longer la rivière, le canoë est le moyen de transport par excellence. Il permet de naviguer doucement au rythme du courant et des pagaies. On y rencontre piroguiers, vendeurs de légumes, des enfants qui jouent dans les bancs de sable et partout des oiseaux endémiques à l’île, d’autres animaux endémiques et une flore et une végétation étonnante et encore sauvage, tels des pandanus, les pachypodiums…

A l’approche des Tsingys, la rivière se resserre et on voit apparaitre les gorges de plateau calcaire abritant de temps à autre des grottes de l’Oliha à flanc de falaise où reposent les Vazimba, ses ancêtres malgaches.

Sur les bords du fleuve, petites cascades et piscines naturelles sont à foison dans la végétation fournissant une fraîcheur  bienvenue.

Y aller : Du fait de la saison pluvieuse qui peut provoquer des crus, le fleuve de la Manambolo n’est praticable que de Mai à Novembre. La période de Juin à la mi-septembre est assurément le moment idéal.

La descente se fait sur des canoës conduits par des piroguiers pendant  quatre jours et  trois nuits en bivouac.

Et aussi : La descente de la Manambolo constitue assurément le circuit phare de l’Agence Madcameleon dont il est le specialiste. Profitez de cette descente pour contribuer au Tourisme durable du village d’Akavandra d’où sont issus piroguiers, cuisiniers, guides locaux formés par l’Agence.