Geography of the South

The south of the island, in the shape of a left foot, promises a variety of landscapes, especially if you travel along Route Nationale 7 (RN7) by car. It is divided into two main areas: the southwest corresponding to the province of Tulear and the southeast, a mixture of Tulear and Fianarantsoa. Tuléar has the largest surface area among its sister provinces in Madagascar, 161,405 km², and “Toliara”, commonly known as “Tolozy”, is occupied by 2.2 million inhabitants, mainly the Mahafaly, Vezo, Bara and Antandroy ethnic groups.
Positeo: 14.52%.
A unique geography in the south of Madagascar
As Madagascar is a tropical country, the geography of its southern part differs from the other provinces of the island. Indeed, the south generally has a semi-arid or semi-desert climate as the trade wind blows from the south-east. Nicknamed the “City of the Sun”, Tulear is on average 25°C and offers a high average annual sunshine of 3600 hours with low rainfall, between 300 and 400 mm. Its relief is characterized by the deltaic plain of Fiherenana and lively dunes or dunes decorated by vegetation.
The south-eastern climate also remains semi-desert, but leans a little towards the humid climate of the east, especially in the Haute-Matsiatra region (Ambalavao, Fianarantsoa, etc.). The Ihorombe plateau shows you this desert aspect. You will find spectacular rocky mountains such as “Les portes du sud” on the RN7, bordered by dry savannahs and harsh brush. Isalo National Park will give you more details about the scenery of southeastern Madagascar.

The extent of southern Madagascar
The province of Tulear has four (4) regions. Androy’s is located in the southernmost part of the country with the district of Tsiombe at the southern tip of the island. Next to it on the south-eastern flank is the Anosy region, which has three (3) districts, including Tolagnaro or Fort-Dauphin. Going up to the southwest, you will pass through the Atsimo-Andrefana region where you can visit the quarry of Sakaraha and the city of Tulear (Tulear I and II). Still along the southwest coast, the Menabe region offers you the beaches of Morondava and the “Baobab Alley” on the road to Belon’i Tsiribihina. This region ends with the Miandrivavo district to the west, bordering the territories of Majunga.
For its part, the southeast, represented by Fianarantsoa, begins with the Ihorombe region dominated by the Ihosy district in the central southeast. Going towards the coast, you will pass through the Atsimo-Atsinanana region which means “south-east” with districts such as Befotaka, South Midongy and Vondrozo. The south-eastern coast bordered by the Vatovavy Fitovinany region with the districts of Nosy Varika, Manakara, Mananjary and some districts of the previous region, including Farafangana and Vangahindrano. The coast offers you its varied beaches as well as the exotic fruits of the country.

Géographie du Sud

Le sud de Madagascar est sûrement la région la plus aride de l’île mais peut-être aussi la plus étonnante en terme de biodiversité et de paysages. C’est sûrement la seule partie de l’île ou on retrouve encore intacte dans certaines parties  la forêt épineuse dans un écosystème semi-désertique. La traversée de la Route Nationale 7 reste le meilleur moyen de  découvrir des paysages de canyons et des reliefs digne du Grand Canyon de l’Arizona. Quant aux rives côtières du Sud, ce sont des kilomètres de plages de sable blancs difficiles d’accès certes mais dans la beauté vaut largement le déplacement.

Positeo : 14,52%
Une géographie unique dans le sud de Madagascar
Comme Madagascar est un pays tropical, la géographie de sa partie méridionale se distingue des autres provinces de l’île. En effet, le sud présente généralement un climat semi-aride ou semi-désertique vu que le vent de l’Alizé souffle en partant du sud-est. Surnommée la « Ville du soleil », Tuléar fait en moyenne 25°C et offre un fort ensoleillement moyen annuel de 3600 heures avec de faibles précipitations, soit entre 300 à 400 mm. Son relief est caractérisé par la plaine deltaïque de Fiherenana et des dunes vives ou ornées par la végétation.
Le climat sud-est reste semi-désertique aussi, mais se penche un peu vers le climat humide de l’est, notamment sur la région de Haute-Matsiatra (Ambalavao, Fianarantsoa, etc.). Le plateau d’Ihorombe vous montre cet aspect de désert. Vous y trouverez des montagnes de roches spectaculaires telles que « les portes du sud » sur la RN7 bordées de savanes sèches et de broussailles acariâtres. Le parc national de l’Isalo vous donnera plus de détails sur le décor du sud-est de Madagascar.

L’étendue du sud de Madagascar
La province de Tuléar compte quatre (4) régions. Celle d’Androy se trouve dans la partie la plus méridionale du pays avec le district de Tsiombe à la pointe sud de l’île. À côté d’elle sur le flanc sud-est siège la région d’Anosy qui compte trois (3) districts, dont parmi eux Tolagnaro ou Fort-Dauphin. En montant vers le sud-ouest, vous passerez par la région Atsimo-Andrefana où vous pourrez visiter la carrière de Sakaraha et la ville de Tuléar (Tuléar I et II). Toujours en longeant la côte du sud-ouest, la région de Menabe vous propose les plages de Morondava et « l’Allée des baobabs » sur la route vers Belon’i Tsiribihina. Cette région se termine avec le district de Miandrivavo vers l’ouest frôlant les territoires de Majunga.
Pour sa part, le sud-est, représenté par Fianarantsoa commence par la région d’Ihorombe dominé par le district d’Ihosy dans le sud-est central. En allant vers la côte, vous passerez par région Atsimo-Atsinanana qui signifie justement « sud-est » avec les districts tels que Befotaka, Midongy-Sud et Vondrozo. La côte du sud-est bordée par la région de Vatovavy Fitovinany avec les districts de Nosy Varika, Manakara, Mananjary et quelques districts de la précédente région, dont Farafangana et Vangahindrano. Le littoral vous propose ses plages variées ainsi que les fruits exotiques du pays.