Wild Lands: from Andringitra to Makay

A fascinating hike that takes you to the most beautiful Massif of the South. From the Andringitra massif to the lunar landscapes to the Makay massif, considered as a sanctuary of nature, we will finish our journey gently on the edge of Ifaty lagoon.

  • Itineraries
  • Dates and prices
  • Notes
  • Day 1

    • ANTANANARIVO
    arrow_drop_up arrow_drop_down
    Arrival in Antananarivo, welcome by our team. Transfer to the hotel and presentation of your program.
    • Breakfast
    • Lunch
    • Dîner
    • Accomodation
    • Activity
    • Photo
  • Day 2

    • ANTANANARIVO
    • 260 km about 6 h
    • AMBOSITRA
    arrow_drop_up arrow_drop_down
    Road to Antsirabe crossing the landscapes of the high plateaus by a winding road lined with small waterfalls and rice terraces. We pass by Ambatolampy the city of artisanal foundries: visit a small factory of aluminium pots. Arrival in Antsirabé in the late morning. In the afternoon we continue on to Ambositra, capital of Malagasy handicrafts: visit of the Zafimaniry workshops specialized in wood carving and marquetry.
    • Breakfast
    • Lunch
    • Dîner
    • Accomodation
    • Activity
    • Photo
  • Day 3

    • AMBOSITRA
    • 2 to 3 h
    • 206 km about 5 h
    • AMBALAVAO
    arrow_drop_up arrow_drop_down
    Early in the morning, we take the road again towards Fianarantsoa, capital of the Betsileo country. Then continuation to Ambalavao: visit of an artisanal Antemoro paper factory (the workshop perpetuates traditional manufacturing methods based on Havoa plant bark). Picnic lunch. In the afternoon, a walking excursion to the Anja village reserve.
    • Breakfast
    • Lunch
    • Dîner
    • Accomodation
    • Activity
    • Photo
  • Day 4

    • AMBALAVAO
    • 3 to 4 h
    • 47 km about 3 h
    • ANDRINGITRA
    arrow_drop_up arrow_drop_down
    We follow a track that winds between hills and cultivated valleys to reach the foothills of the Andringitra massif. This massif is formed by 3 majestic granite mountains full of legends and beliefs, highly respected by the villagers. In the afternoon, accompanied by porters and the park guide, we enter the park and pass through the village of Ambalamanandray. We cross the Zomandao River and climb into the high primary forest to the developed camp.
    • Breakfast
    • Lunch
    • Dîner
    • Accomodation
    • Activity
    • Photo
  • Day 5

    • 5 to 6 h
    • ANDRINGITRA
    arrow_drop_up arrow_drop_down
    We walk on the plateau located at about 2000 m in the middle of tall grass and heather. We easily reach the day camp at 2050 m and for those who wish, we climb Pic Boby (2658 m). The climb is quite steep but the path is well traced to a rocky valley before the final climb into the rocks. The view of Pic Boby is magnificent (on a clear day) over the surrounding granite peaks and the Tsaranoro valley. Height difference: about 650 meters
    • Breakfast
    • Lunch
    • Dîner
    • Accomodation
    • Activity
    • Photo
  • Day 6

    • 5 to 6 h
    • ANDRINGITRA
    arrow_drop_up arrow_drop_down
    We leave the camp and cross part of the grassy plateau, then a small climb leads us in the middle of the rocks with strange formations dotted with small oases, this place is called "extra terrestrial"! We descend on the other side of the massif by a beautiful path sometimes composed of rock stairs, we find some palm trees scattered in the granite and have a plunging view over the Tsaranoro valley. Our evening bivouac is located at the foot of the descent, next to a stream where we can cool off.
    • Breakfast
    • Lunch
    • Dîner
    • Accomodation
    • Activity
    • Photo
  • Day 7

    • ANDRINGITRA
    • 2 to 3 h
    • 224 km about 5 h
    • RANOHIRA
    arrow_drop_up arrow_drop_down
    Last day of walking in Andringitra, we go down to the Tsaranoro valley. We reach the first villages. We join our vehicle which will take us on the national road towards Ranohira. Picnic lunch along the way. We progress in the desert areas of the South through Ihosy (Bara country, ethnic group of zebu breeders) then we cross the large savannah areas of the Horombe plateau. Arrival in Ranohira in the afternoon.
    • Breakfast
    • Lunch
    • Dîner
    • Accomodation
    • Activity
    • Photo
  • Day 8

    • RANOHIRA
    • BEROROHA
    • 205 km about 6 h
    • BERONONO
    arrow_drop_up arrow_drop_down
    Departure at dawn for a difficult day's trail to the northwest to reach the banks of the Mangoky River. Crossing the Mangoky River by ferry then continuation by crossing the Makay River before taking the track again to the foot of the Makay Massif.
    • Breakfast
    • Lunch
    • Dîner
    • Accomodation
    • Activity
    • Photo
  • Day 9

    • 5 to 6 h
    • TREKKING IN THE MAKAY MASSIF
    arrow_drop_up arrow_drop_down
    The Makay massif, with its tormented relief, is a wild site, uninhabited, isolated, little explored, far from the roads... The landscapes are surprising..: high plateaus covered in part with dry forests typical of the West Coast; vast and deep canyons sheltering humid tropical vegetation... Accompanied by guides and carriers we leave for 4 days of hiking in "Terra Incognita" crossing canyons by walking in the river, from time to time we will climb on the plateaus then go down in the canyons.... In the evening we will bivouac on small sandbanks near watercourses.
    • Breakfast
    • Lunch
    • Dîner
    • Accomodation
    • Activity
    • Photo
  • Day 10

    • 5 to 6 h
    • TREKKING IN THE MAKAY MASSIF
    arrow_drop_up arrow_drop_down
    The Makay massif, with its tormented relief, is a wild site, uninhabited, isolated, little explored, far from the roads... The landscapes are surprising..: high plateaus covered in part with dry forests typical of the West Coast; vast and deep canyons sheltering humid tropical vegetation... Accompanied by guides and carriers we leave for 4 days of hiking in "Terra Incognita" crossing canyons by walking in the river, from time to time we will climb on the plateaus then go down in the canyons.... In the evening we will bivouac on small sandbanks near watercourses.
    • Breakfast
    • Lunch
    • Dîner
    • Accomodation
    • Activity
    • Photo
  • Day 11

    • 5 to 6 h
    • TREKKING IN THE MAKAY MASSIF
    arrow_drop_up arrow_drop_down
    The Makay massif, with its tormented relief, is a wild site, uninhabited, isolated, little explored, far from the roads... The landscapes are surprising..: high plateaus covered in part with dry forests typical of the West Coast; vast and deep canyons sheltering humid tropical vegetation... Accompanied by guides and carriers we leave for 4 days of hiking in "Terra Incognita" crossing canyons by walking in the river, from time to time we will climb on the plateaus then go down in the canyons.... In the evening we will bivouac on small sandbanks near watercourses.
    • Breakfast
    • Lunch
    • Dîner
    • Accomodation
    • Activity
    • Photo
  • Day 12

    • 5 to 6 h
    • TREKKING IN THE MAKAY MASSIF
    arrow_drop_up arrow_drop_down
    The Makay massif, with its tormented relief, is a wild site, uninhabited, isolated, little explored, far from the roads... The landscapes are surprising..: high plateaus covered in part with dry forests typical of the West Coast; vast and deep canyons sheltering humid tropical vegetation... Accompanied by guides and carriers we leave for 4 days of hiking in "Terra Incognita" crossing canyons by walking in the river, from time to time we will climb on the plateaus then go down in the canyons.... In the evening we will bivouac on small sandbanks near watercourses.
    • Breakfast
    • Lunch
    • Dîner
    • Accomodation
    • Activity
    • Photo
  • Day 13

    • BERONONO
    • 205 km about 6 h
    • RANOHIRA
    arrow_drop_up arrow_drop_down
    Departure at dawn for the village of Ranohira by the track. Crossing the Mangoky River by ferry. Arrival in Ranohira in the early evening.
    • Breakfast
    • Lunch
    • Dîner
    • Accomodation
    • Activity
    • Photo
  • Day 14

    • RANOHIRA
    • TULEAR
    • 268 km about 6 h
    • IFATY
    arrow_drop_up arrow_drop_down
    Early departure for Tulear. Crossing the village of Ilakaka, which was built in 3 months after the discovery of the world's largest sapphire vein. Then the road crosses savannah landscapes and we discover the first baobabs. Arrival in Tulear in the late morning. Stop at the table inn and visit the arboretum (home to a wide variety of endemic plants and shrubs). In the afternoon, a short visit of Tulear, then we head towards Ifaty: we take a sandy track, along the coast and its mangroves. Crossing small fishing villages... Arrival at the end of the day.
    • Breakfast
    • Lunch
    • Dîner
    • Accomodation
    • Activity
    • Photo
  • Day 15

    • IFATY
    arrow_drop_up arrow_drop_down
    Free day: relaxation, swimming, possibility to go for a walk in local canoes or visit the fishing village.
    • Breakfast
    • Lunch
    • Dîner
    • Accomodation
    • Activity
    • Photo
  • Day 16

    • IFATY
    • TULEAR
    • 25 km about 1 h
    • about 1 h
    • ANTANANARIVO
    arrow_drop_up arrow_drop_down
    Transfer to the airport and flight to Antananarivo. Reception and assistance for international correspondence.
    • Breakfast
    • Lunch
    • Dîner
    • Accomodation
    • Activity
    • Photo

Terres Sauvages : de l’Andringitra au Makay

Une randonnée fascinante qui vous emmene dans les plus beaux Massif du sud. Du massif de l’Andringitra aux paysages lunaire au massif du Makay considéré comme un sanctuaire de la nature, nous finirons notre voyage en douceur au bord du lagon d’Ifaty.

  • Itinéraires
  • Dates et prix
  • A noter
  • Jour 1

    • ANTANANARIVO
    arrow_drop_up arrow_drop_down
    Arrivée à Antananarivo, accueil par notre équipe. Transfert à l’hôtel et présentation de votre programme.
    • Petit déjeuner
    • Déjeuner
    • Diner
    • Accomodation
    • Activity
    • Photo
  • Jour 2

    • ANTANANARIVO
    • 260 km environ 6 h
    • AMBOSITRA
    arrow_drop_up arrow_drop_down
    Route pour Antsirabe en traversant les paysages des hautes plateaux par une route sinueuse bordée de petites cascades et de rizières en terrasses. Nous passons par Ambatolampy la cité des fonderies artisanales : visite d’une petite fabrique de marmites en aluminium. Arrivée en fin de matinée à Antsirabé. L’après-midi noud continuons sur Ambositra capitale de l’artisanat Malgache : visite des ateliers Zafimaniry spécialisés dans la sculpture sur bois et la marqueterie.
    • Petit déjeuner
    • Déjeuner
    • Diner
    • Accomodation
    • Activity
    • Photo
  • Jour 3

    • AMBOSITRA
    • 2 à 3 h
    • 206 km environ 5 h
    • AMBALAVAO
    arrow_drop_up arrow_drop_down
    Tôt le matin, nous reprenons la route en direction de Fianarantsoa, capitale du pays Betsileo. Puis continuation sur Ambalavao : visite d’une fabrique artisanale de papier Antemoro (l’atelier perpétue des méthodes de fabrication traditionnelles à base d’écorce de plantes Havoa). Déjeuner pique-nique. L’après-midi excursion pédestre dans la réserve villageoise Anja.
    • Petit déjeuner
    • Déjeuner
    • Diner
    • Accomodation
    • Activity
    • Photo
  • Jour 4

    • AMBALAVAO
    • 3 à 4 h
    • 47 km environ 3 h
    • ANDRINGITRA
    arrow_drop_up arrow_drop_down
    Nous empruntons une piste qui serpente entre colline et vallées cultivées pour atteindre les contreforts du massif de l’Andringitra. Ce massif est formé par 3 majestueuses montagnes de granites chargées de légendes et de croyances, très respectées par les villageois. L’après-midi, accompagnés de porteurs et du guide du parc, nous entrons dans le parc et passons par le village d`Ambalamanandray. Nous traversons la rivière Zomandao et montons dans la forêt primaire d’altitude jusqu`au camp aménagé.
    • Petit déjeuner
    • Déjeuner
    • Diner
    • Accomodation
    • Activity
    • Photo
  • Jour 5

    • 5 à 6 h
    • ANDRINGITRA
    arrow_drop_up arrow_drop_down
    Nous marchons sur le plateau situé à environ 2000 m au milieu des hautes herbes et des bruyères. Nous atteignons facilement le camp du jour à 2050 m et pour ceux qui le souhaitent, nous faisons l`ascension du Pic Boby (2658 m). La montée est assez raide mais le sentier est bien tracé jusqu`à un vallon rocheux avant la montée finale dans les rochers. La vue du Pic Boby est magnifique (par temps clair) sur les sommets granitiques environnant et sur la vallée de la Tsaranoro. Dénivelé : environ 650 mètres
    • Petit déjeuner
    • Déjeuner
    • Diner
    • Accomodation
    • Activity
    • Photo
  • Jour 6

    • 5 à 6 h
    • ANDRINGITRA
    arrow_drop_up arrow_drop_down
    Nous levons le camp et traversons une partie du plateau herbeux, puis une petite montée nous conduit au milieu des roches aux formations étranges parsemées de petites oasis, ce lieu s`appelle les "extras terrestres" ! Nous descendons de l`autre côté du massif par un beau sentier parfois composé d`escaliers en rocher, nous retrouvons quelques palmiers disséminés dans le granite et avons une vue plongeante sur la vallée de Tsaranoro. Notre bivouac du soir se situe au pied de la descente, à côté d’un cours d`eau où nous pouvons nous rafraîchir.
    • Petit déjeuner
    • Déjeuner
    • Diner
    • Accomodation
    • Activity
    • Photo
  • Jour 7

    • ANDRINGITRA
    • 2 à 3 h
    • 224 km environ 5 h
    • RANOHIRA
    arrow_drop_up arrow_drop_down
    Dernière Journée de marche dans l`Andringitra, nous descendons dans la vallée du Tsaranoro. Nous atteignons les premiers villages. Nous rejoignons notre véhicule qui nous conduira sur la route nationale en direction de Ranohira. Déjeuner pique-nique en cours de route. Nous progressons dans les espaces désertiques du Sud en passant par Ihosy (pays Bara, ethnie d’éleveurs de zébus) puis nous traversons les grands espaces de savanes du plateau de Horombe. Arrivée à Ranohira dans l’après-midi.
    • Petit déjeuner
    • Déjeuner
    • Diner
    • Accomodation
    • Activity
    • Photo
  • Jour 8

    • RANOHIRA -
    • BEROROHA -
    • 205 km environ 6 h
    • BERONONO
    arrow_drop_up arrow_drop_down
    Départ à l’aube pour une journée de piste difficile vers le Nord-Ouest pour rejoindre le bord du Fleuve Mangoky. Traversée du Fleuve Mangoky en bac puis continuation en traversant la rivière Makay avant de reprendre la piste jusqu’au pied du Massif du Makay.
    • Petit déjeuner
    • Déjeuner
    • Diner
    • Accomodation
    • Activity
    • Photo
  • Jour 9

    • 5 à 6 h
    • TREKKING DANS LE MASSIF DU MAKAY
    arrow_drop_up arrow_drop_down
    Le massif de Makay, au relief tourmenté est un site sauvage, non habité, isolé, peu exploré, loin des axes de communications…Les paysages sont surprenants : de hauts plateaux recouverts en partie de forêts sèches typiques de la côte Ouest; de vastes et profonds canyons abritant une végétation tropicale humide… Accompagnés de guides et porteurs nous partons pour 4 jours de randonnée en « Terra Incognita » traversant des canyons en marchant dans la rivière, de temps à autres nous monterons sur les plateaux puis redescendons dans les canyons…. Le soir nous bivouaquerons sur de petits bancs de sables près des cours d’eau.
    • Petit déjeuner
    • Déjeuner
    • Diner
    • Accomodation
    • Activity
    • Photo
  • Jour 10

    • 5 à 6 h
    • TREKKING DANS LE MASSIF DU MAKAY
    arrow_drop_up arrow_drop_down
    Le massif de Makay, au relief tourmenté est un site sauvage, non habité, isolé, peu exploré, loin des axes de communications…Les paysages sont surprenants : de hauts plateaux recouverts en partie de forêts sèches typiques de la côte Ouest; de vastes et profonds canyons abritant une végétation tropicale humide… Accompagnés de guides et porteurs nous partons pour 4 jours de randonnée en « Terra Incognita » traversant des canyons en marchant dans la rivière, de temps à autres nous monterons sur les plateaux puis redescendons dans les canyons…. Le soir nous bivouaquerons sur de petits bancs de sables près des cours d’eau.
    • Petit déjeuner
    • Déjeuner
    • Diner
    • Accomodation
    • Activity
    • Photo
  • Jour 11

    • 5 à 6 h
    • TREKKING DANS LE MASSIF DU MAKAY
    arrow_drop_up arrow_drop_down
    Le massif de Makay, au relief tourmenté est un site sauvage, non habité, isolé, peu exploré, loin des axes de communications…Les paysages sont surprenants : de hauts plateaux recouverts en partie de forêts sèches typiques de la côte Ouest; de vastes et profonds canyons abritant une végétation tropicale humide… Accompagnés de guides et porteurs nous partons pour 4 jours de randonnée en « Terra Incognita » traversant des canyons en marchant dans la rivière, de temps à autres nous monterons sur les plateaux puis redescendons dans les canyons…. Le soir nous bivouaquerons sur de petits bancs de sables près des cours d’eau.
    • Petit déjeuner
    • Déjeuner
    • Diner
    • Accomodation
    • Activity
    • Photo
  • Jour 12

    • 5 à 6 h
    • TREKKING DANS LE MASSIF DU MAKAY
    arrow_drop_up arrow_drop_down
    Le massif de Makay, au relief tourmenté est un site sauvage, non habité, isolé, peu exploré, loin des axes de communications…Les paysages sont surprenants : de hauts plateaux recouverts en partie de forêts sèches typiques de la côte Ouest; de vastes et profonds canyons abritant une végétation tropicale humide… Accompagnés de guides et porteurs nous partons pour 4 jours de randonnée en « Terra Incognita » traversant des canyons en marchant dans la rivière, de temps à autres nous monterons sur les plateaux puis redescendons dans les canyons…. Le soir nous bivouaquerons sur de petits bancs de sables près des cours d’eau.
    • Petit déjeuner
    • Déjeuner
    • Diner
    • Accomodation
    • Activity
    • Photo
  • Jour 13

    • BERONONO
    • 205 km environ 6 h
    • RANOHIRA
    arrow_drop_up arrow_drop_down
    Départ à l’aube pour le village de Ranohira par la piste. Traversée du Fleuve Mangoky en bac. Arrivée à Ranohira en début de soirée.
    • Petit déjeuner
    • Déjeuner
    • Diner
    • Accomodation
    • Activity
    • Photo
  • Jour 14

    • RANOHIRA
    • TULEAR
    • 268 km environ 6 h
    • IFATY
    arrow_drop_up arrow_drop_down
    Départ matinal pour Tuléar. Traversée du village d’Ilakaka, qui s’est construit en 3 mois après la dévcouverte du plus gros filon de saphir au monde. Puis la route traverse des paysages de savanes et l’on découverte des premiers baobabs. Arrivée à Tuléar en fin de matinée. Arret à l’auberge de la table puis visite de l’arboretum (regroupant une grande variété de plantes et arbustes endémiques). Dans l’après-midi petite visite de Tuléar, puis nous prenons la direction d’Ifaty : nous empruntons une piste sablonneuse, longeons la côte et ses mangroves. Traversée des petits villages de pêcheurs… Arrivée en fin de journée.
    • Petit déjeuner
    • Déjeuner
    • Diner
    • Accomodation
    • Activity
    • Photo
  • Jour 15

    • IFATY
    arrow_drop_up arrow_drop_down
    Journée libre : détente, baignade, possibilité de faire des ballades en pirogues locales ou de visiter le village de pêcheurs.
    • Petit déjeuner
    • Déjeuner
    • Diner
    • Accomodation
    • Activity
    • Photo
  • Jour 16

    • IFATY
    • TULEAR
    • 25 km environ 1 h
    • environ 1 h
    • ANTANANARIVO
    arrow_drop_up arrow_drop_down
    Transfert à l’aéroport et vol à destination d’Antananarivo. Accueil et assistance pour la correspondance internationale.
    • Petit déjeuner
    • Déjeuner
    • Diner
    • Accomodation
    • Activity
    • Photo