On the Pangalanes Canal

From the highlands to the east coast, we suggest you two completely different regions. Houses with red clay color  surrounded by rice fields where the people hardwork while we progressively move down the green coast of the East by train, a tourist peculiarity dating from the colonization which originally had to open up and to prosper the activities of this part of Madagascar. Then three days of sailing along the Pangalanes Canal with its small villages are built from plant huts and an exotic biodiversity away from the beaten track and round off in Sainte Marie Island where time seems to rest.

  • Itineraries
  • Dates and prices
  • Notes
  • Day 1

    • about 0 h
    • New location
    arrow_drop_up arrow_drop_down
    Reception at the airport by Mad Cameleon's team and transfer to the hotel to present your program
    • Breakfast
    • Lunch
    • Dîner
    • Accomodation
    • Activity
    • Photo
  • Day 2

    • ANTANANARIVO
    • 170 km about 4 h
    • ANTSIRABE
    arrow_drop_up arrow_drop_down
    From Antananarivo towards Antsirabe, there are brightly colored landscapes along this winding road with an assortment of rice terraces. A hundred km from the capital, visit an aluminum pot factory, local specificity of the city of Ambatolampy among others. On arrival in the afternoon in Antsirabe, the city of water, possibility of visiting the city as the lively local market, the craftsmen manufacturers of small cars made by tin can or visit the workshops of horn craftsmen zebus.
    • Breakfast
    • Lunch
    • Dîner
    • Accomodation
    • Activity
    • Photo
  • Day 3

    • New location
    • 239 km about 6 h
    • New location
    arrow_drop_up arrow_drop_down
    Departure to Fianarantsoa, ​​with layover in Ambositra a city considered as the capital of Zafimaniry art, known as international cultural inheritage by UNESCO. The visit of some workshops specializing in marquetry and precious woodcarving will give you a glimpse of the full extent of the skill of its true craftsmen, keepers of a unique knowledge of its kind. Then we continue towards Ranomafana in the Namorina Valley, a landscape of primary dense forests favored by a dense tropical and humid climate and surrounded by mountainous massifs before arriving at the city of Fianarantsoa.
    • Breakfast
    • Lunch
    • Dîner
    • Accomodation
    • Activity
    • Photo
  • Day 4

    • FIANARANTSOA
    • MANAKARA
    arrow_drop_up arrow_drop_down
    A morning awakening to board the train, a real tourist attraction, a journey of 163km that runs through 17stations, 67 bridges and 47 tunnels. The train was built in the 1930s to open up the villages along the emerald forest and kick off an economy based on the export of agricultural products. Placed 3rd in the row of the steepest lines in the world, this unique trip will immerse you in a very folkloric atmosphere. The downtime in each station is punctuated by the duration of loading and unloading of fruits and vegetables ... Arrival in Manankara during the evening, dinner and overnight at the hotel.
    • Breakfast
    • Lunch
    • Dîner
    • Accomodation
    • Activity
    • Photo
  • Day 5

    • New location
    • 117 km about 3 h
    • New location
    arrow_drop_up arrow_drop_down
    Departure from Manakara to reach the quiet and peaceful city of Mananjary starting point of our going down trip. 177km of road in a region dominated by spices, coffee and vanilla cultivation. All along the road, we go through different villages in the shade of the badamiers with their markets rich in colors. The oncoming in Manakara will be late in the morning and the afternoon will be left opened to visit the city and eventually get to know the local people whose customs and traditions are still present in the local culture.
    • Breakfast
    • Lunch
    • Dîner
    • Accomodation
    • Activity
    • Photo
  • Day 6

    • MANANJARY
    • NOSY VARIKA
    arrow_drop_up arrow_drop_down
    In the morning we start our run down of the Pangalanes Canal in board of wooden boat. Through this dense and lush vegetation, the banks of the Canal give a glimpse of some small villages where the natives come alive as we pass. During the trip, we will meet local canoes loaded with fruits and vegetables ... which provide supplies along the shore, or large collective taxi-boats and other bamboo rafts. A guaranteed change of scenery for travelers. Picnic lunch. Arrival in the village in the afternoon, dinner and overnight at the hostel.
    • Breakfast
    • Lunch
    • Dîner
    • Accomodation
    • Activity
    • Photo
  • Day 7

    • New location
    • New location
    arrow_drop_up arrow_drop_down
    In the morning we continue our navigation on the Canal. We stop over the water to visit small plantations of vanilla, cinnamon, coffee, cocoa ... Picnic lunch on the beach at the edge of the lagoon and then we go on a walking tour through a forest of bamboo, palm trees, ferns, pandanus, some species of orchids .... We stop for a visit to the village of Nosy Varika. We continue our navigation on the channel between the sand dunes until Masomelaka, a small typical village Betsimisaraka. Water hyacinths cover almost the entire channel to the mouth of Mangoro before reaching the small town of Mahanoro.
    • Breakfast
    • Lunch
    • Dîner
    • Accomodation
    • Activity
    • Photo
  • Day 8

    • MAHANORO
    • VATOMANDRY
    • 188 km about 4 h
    • TAMATAVE
    arrow_drop_up arrow_drop_down
    By road, we go up to the city harbor of Tamatave punctuated by small stops along the way in lively villages. A stop at Vatomandry, literally the Mandry Rock which according to legend was chosen as a stronghold by a dignitary named Mandry. Picnic lunch to plan before arriving in the city in the early afternoon and visit the reserve of Ivoloina, a haven to a few families of lemurs, reptiles, amphibians, parrots and some other endemic plants. Dinner and overnight at the hotel after a short city tour.
    • Breakfast
    • Lunch
    • Dîner
    • Accomodation
    • Activity
    • Photo
  • Day 9

    • TAMATAVE
    • SOANIERANA IVONGO
    • 163 km about 4 h
    • SAINTE MARIE
    arrow_drop_up arrow_drop_down
    We continue riding up north along the coast where we cross some small fishing villages straight to the village of Sonierana Ivongo, a small bush harbor after about 3 hours of driving, a must path to many other commercial cities. Boarding a motorboat to Sainte Marie Island. A free afternoon to discover this ancient haunt of pirates whose history and architecture of the main city have been strongly marked.
    • Breakfast
    • Lunch
    • Dîner
    • Accomodation
    • Activity
    • Photo
  • Day 10 and Day 11

    • SAINTE MARIE
    arrow_drop_up arrow_drop_down
    Free seaside stays to fully enjoy the activities offered by this island. Different water activities are possible: diving in blue waters, fishing, ... It is also possible to make trips to small islands around as the island Nattes with its white beaches, its lagoon and its colorful houses. But also visit the coconut grove, the cemetery of Pirates, the Bay of Ampanihy ... The other great attraction of the island being the Whale season from July to September.
    • Breakfast
    • Lunch
    • Dîner
    • Accomodation
    • Activity
    • Photo
  • Day 12

    • New location
    • about 0 h
    • New location
    arrow_drop_up arrow_drop_down
    End of the stay and transfer to the airport to come back to Antananarivo. The Mad Cameleon team will welcome you and assist you with your international correspondence.
    • Breakfast
    • Lunch
    • Dîner
    • Accomodation
    • Activity
    • Photo

Sur le canal des Pangalanes

Des hauts plateaux à la côte Est, c’est deux régions complètement différentes que nous vous proposons de visiter. Des maisons en terre rouge entourées de rizières où la population s’active aux champs tandis que nous traversons progressivement la côte verdoyante de l’Est à bord d’un petit train, une particularité touristique datant de la colonisation qui à l’origine devait désenclaver et faire prospérer les activités de cette partie de Madagascar. S’ensuit trois jours de navigation le long du Canal des Pangalanes avec ses petits villages construits à partir de cases végétaux et ainsi qu’une biodiversité dépaysants loin des sentiers battus pour finir sur l’île de Sainte Marie où le temps semble s’arrêter.

  • Itinéraires
  • Dates et prix
  • A noter
  • Jour 1

    • ANTANANARIVO
    • environ 0 h
    arrow_drop_up arrow_drop_down
    Accueil à l'aéroport par l'équipe de Mad Cameleon et transfert à l'hôtel pour vous présenter votre programme.
    • Petit déjeuner
    • Déjeuner
    • Diner
    • Accomodation
    • Activity
    • Photo
  • Jour 2

    • ANTANANARIVO
    • 170 km environ 4 h
    • ANTSIRABE
    arrow_drop_up arrow_drop_down
    Au départ d'Antananarivo en direction d'Antsirabe, ce sont des paysages aux couleurs vives où se profilent le long de cette route sinueuse un assortiment de rizières en terasse. A une centaine de km de la capitale, visite d'une fabrique de marmites en aluminium, spécificité locale de la ville d'Ambatolampy entre autres. A l'arrivée dans l'après-midi à Antsirabe, la ville d'eau, possibilité de visiter la ville comme marché local très animé, les artisans fabricants des petites voitures au moyen de boîte de conserves ou des ateliers d'artisans de cornes de zébus.
    • Petit déjeuner
    • Déjeuner
    • Diner
    • Accomodation
    • Activity
    • Photo
  • Jour 3

    • ANTSIRABE
    • 239 km environ 6 h
    • FIANARANTSOA
    arrow_drop_up arrow_drop_down
    Direction Fianarantsoa, avec une halte à Ambositra une ville considérée comme la capitale de l'art Zafimaniry, reconnu par l'UNESCO qui en a fait un patrimoine culturel. La visite de quelques ateliers spécialisés dans la marqueterie et la sculpture de bois précieux vous donnera un aperçu de toute l'étendu de l'habileté de ses artisans véritables dépositaires d'un savoir faire unique en son genre. Puis nous continuons vers Ranomafana dans la vallée de la Namorina, un paysage de forêts denses primaires favorisé par un climat dense tropical et humide et entouré de massifs montagneux avant d'arriver à la ville de Fianarantsoa.
    • Petit déjeuner
    • Déjeuner
    • Diner
    • Accomodation
    • Activity
    • Photo
  • Jour 4

    • FIANARANTSOA
    • MANAKARA
    arrow_drop_up arrow_drop_down
    Un réveil matinal pour embarquer à bord du train, véritable attraction touristique, un périple de 163km qui traverse en tout 17gares, 67 ponts et 47 tunels. Le train fût construit vers les années 30 pour désenclaver les villages le long de la forêt d'émeraude et faire décoller une économie basée sur l’exportation de produits agricoles. Placé 3eme dans le rang des lignes à plus forte pente du monde, ce voyage unique vous baignera dans une ambiance très folklorique. Le temps d'arrêt dans chaque gare est rythmé par la durée des chargements et des déchargements de fruits et légumes... Arrivée à Manankara au cours de la soirée, dîner et nuit à l'hôtel.
    • Petit déjeuner
    • Déjeuner
    • Diner
    • Accomodation
    • Activity
    • Photo
  • Jour 5

    • MANAKARA
    • 117 km environ 3 h
    • MANANJARY
    arrow_drop_up arrow_drop_down
    Départ de Manakara pour rejoindre la ville paisible et calme de Mananjary point de départ de notre descente. 177km de route dans une région où prédomine la culture d'épices, de café et de vanille. Tout le long de la route, nous traversons différents villages à l'ombre des badamiers avec leur marchés riches en couleurs. L'arrivée à Manakara se fera en fin de matinée et l'après-midi sera laissée libre pour vous permettre de visiter la ville et éventuellement faire connaissance avec la population locale dont les coutumes et les traditions sont encore bien présentes dans la culture locale.
    • Petit déjeuner
    • Déjeuner
    • Diner
    • Accomodation
    • Activity
    • Photo
  • Jour 6

    • MANANJARY
    • NOSY VARIKA
    arrow_drop_up arrow_drop_down
    Au matin nous commençons notre descente du Canal de Pangalanes à bord d'une embarcation en bois. A travers cette végétation dense et luxuriante, les berges du Canal laissent entrevoir quelques petits villages où les autochtones s'animent à notre passage. Lors du voyage, nous croiserons des pirogues locales chargées de fruits et légumes... qui assurent le ravitaillement le long de la rive, ou encore d'imposants bateaux-taxis collectifs et d'autres radeaux en bambous. Un garanti de dépaysement pour les voyageurs. Déjeuner pique-nique. Arrivée au village dans l'après-midi, dîner et nuit à l'auberge.
    • Petit déjeuner
    • Déjeuner
    • Diner
    • Accomodation
    • Activity
    • Photo
  • Jour 7

    • NOSY VARIKA
    • MAHANORO
    arrow_drop_up arrow_drop_down
    Dans la matinée nous reprenons notre navigation sur la Canal. Nous nous arrêtons au fil de l’eau pour visiter des petites plantations de vanille, cannelle, café, cacao… Déjeuner pique-nique sur la plage au bord de la lagune puis nous partons en excursion pédestre à travers une forêt de bambous, palmiers, fougères, pandanus, quelques espèces d‘orchidées …. Nous nous arrêtons pour une petite visite au village de Nosy Varika. Nous continuons notre navigation sur le canal entre les dunes de sables jusqu’à Masomelaka, un petit village typique Betsimisaraka. Les jacinthes d’eau couvrent pratiquement tout le canal jusqu’à l’embouchure de Mangoro avant d’atteindre la petite ville de Mahanoro.
    • Petit déjeuner
    • Déjeuner
    • Diner
    • Accomodation
    • Activity
    • Photo
  • Jour 8

    • MAHANORO
    • VATOMANDRY
    • 188 km environ 4 h
    • TAMATAVE
    arrow_drop_up arrow_drop_down
    Par la route, nous remontons vers la ville portuaire de Tamatave ponctué par de petits arrêts tout le long du chemin dans des bourgs animés. Une halte à Vatomandry, littéralement le rocher de Mandry qui selon la légende aurait été choisie comme place forte par un dignitaire nommé Mandry. Déjeuner pique-nique à prévoir avant d'arriver dans la ville en début d'après-midi et visite de la réserve d'Ivoloina abritant quelques familles de lémuriens, de reptiles, de batraciens, de perroquets et quelques autres plantes endémiques. Dîner et nuit à l'hôtel après un petit tour de ville.
    • Petit déjeuner
    • Déjeuner
    • Diner
    • Accomodation
    • Activity
    • Photo
  • Jour 9

    • TAMATAVE
    • SOANIERANA IVONGO
    • 163 km environ 4 h
    • SAINTE MARIE
    arrow_drop_up arrow_drop_down
    Nous continuons notre remontée vers le Nord en longeant la côte ou nous traversons quelques petits villages de pêcheurs jusqu'au village de Sonierana Ivongo, un petit port de brousse après environ 3h de route, un passage obligé vers de nombreuses autres villes commerciales. Embarquement à bord d'un bateau à moteur jusqu'à l'île Sainte Marie. Un après-midi libre pour découvrir cet ancien repaire de pirates dont l'histoire et l'architecture de la ville principale en ont été fortement marqués.
    • Petit déjeuner
    • Déjeuner
    • Diner
    • Accomodation
    • Activity
    • Photo
  • Jour 10 et Jour 11

    • SAINTE MARIE
    arrow_drop_up arrow_drop_down
    Séjours balnéaires libres pour profiter pleinement de des activités qu'offre cette île. Différentes activités nautiques possibles sont envisageables : plongées dans des eaux turquoises, pêches,… Il est aussi possible de faires des excursions sur les petites îles alentours comme l'île aux Nattes avec ses plages blancs, son lagon et ses petites maisons aux couleurs vives. Mais aussi la visite de la Cocoteraie, le cimetière des Pirates, la Baie d'Ampanihy... L'autre grande attraction de l'île étant la saison des Baleines de Juillet à Septembre.
    • Petit déjeuner
    • Déjeuner
    • Diner
    • Accomodation
    • Activity
    • Photo
  • Jour 12

    • SAINTE MARIE
    • environ 0 h
    • ANTANANARIVO
    arrow_drop_up arrow_drop_down
    Fin du séjour et transfert à l'aéroport pour revenir à Antananarivo. L'équipe de Mad Cameleon vous acceuillera et vous assistera pour votre correspondance internationale.
    • Petit déjeuner
    • Déjeuner
    • Diner
    • Accomodation
    • Activity
    • Photo