Adventure on the Manambolo

This flagship and adventure tour of our agency, proposes you the discovery of a region still little known, located in the west of Madagascar “The Menabe”. Whether for immersion in the volcanic landscapes of Lake Itasy, natural dam formed by its craters. Hiking through the Bongolova massif with its rock formations of “Lavaka”. Finally, continue the canoeing down the Manambolo river that winds through this wild region where extends as far as the eye can see the imposing massif of Bemaraha and its famous “Tsingy”.

Leader on this tour that we entirely created and that we continue to develop for more than 15 years. We offer all the appropriate logistics, such as the training of guides and boatmen to ensure maximum comfort and safety. This tour will introduce you to our vision of sharing and solidarity tourism.

  • Itineraries
  • Dates and prices
  • Notes
  • Day 1

    • ANTANANARIVO
    • 2 to 3 h
    • 125 km about 3 h
    • AMPEFY
    arrow_drop_up arrow_drop_down
    Departure from Antananarivo by the western road to reach Ampefy, a small peaceful town in the region of Itasy on a background of volcanic landscapes. We can admire all along the road small villages and traditional houses thatched roofs, rice terraces ... and finally reach the Great Lake Itasy. In the afternoon, visit and pedestrian excursion to discover this region.
    • Breakfast
    • Lunch
    • Dîner
    • Accomodation
    • Activity
    • Photo
  • Day 2

    • AMPEFY
    • TSIROANOMANDIDY
    • 170 km about 7 h
    • BELOBAKA
    arrow_drop_up arrow_drop_down
    Road towards Tsiroanomandidy where we meet convoys of zebus carts that transport their crops to the big market. Then we take a track that crosses a landscape of hills and valleys before reaching the village of Belobaka. We continue along a small winding track and enter the heart of the Bongolava massif.
    • Breakfast
    • Lunch
    • Dîner
    • Accomodation
    • Activity
    • Photo
  • Day 3

    • BELOBAKA
    • 5 to 6 h
    • BONGOLAVA
    arrow_drop_up arrow_drop_down
    In the early morning, we start our trek accompanied by our carriers on well-marked trails through grassy savannah landscapes and sloping hills formed by the erosion of the famous "Lavaka". It's also a chance for us to get to know the locals on these tracks, which are the only way to get to the villages and people of this remote area of ​​Bongolava stretching over more than 16,000 square kilometers.
    • Breakfast
    • Lunch
    • Dîner
    • Accomodation
    • Activity
    • Photo
  • Day 4

    • BONGOLAVA
    • 3 to 4 h
    • ANKAVANDRA
    arrow_drop_up arrow_drop_down
    We continue our trek and reach the western slope of the massif which dominates the great plains of Menabe or crisscrosses the Manambolo river. Arrival at the end of the morning at Akavandra, final stage of our hike. Lunch at the village. This is the starting point of our descent in canoes. Piroguiers, cooks, are all from this village and will be happy to help you discover it. In the afternoon, after the traditional "Fomba" (ritual) we begin our navigation. The convoy of canoes stretches, being guided by the current. At the end of the day, camping on the banks of sand.
    • Breakfast
    • Lunch
    • Dîner
    • Accomodation
    • Activity
    • Photo
  • Day 5

    • MANAMBOLO RIVER CANOE TRIP
    arrow_drop_up arrow_drop_down
    We go along the water on the Manambolo river at the foot of the Bongolava hills. The course of the river is lost in its sand bed, and requires us to follow the boatmen who tell us the channel to follow. Sometimes narrowing between two hills, the river runs along small cliffs from which clear water springs. Local fishermen offer us their fish. Here and there, crops on the silt are visible on the banks. The whole life of the river unfolds before our eyes at the languid rhythm of nature and the flow that carries us away.
    • Breakfast
    • Lunch
    • Dîner
    • Accomodation
    • Activity
    • Photo
  • Day 6

    • CANOE TRIP
    arrow_drop_up arrow_drop_down
    The landscape changes as the Bemaraha massif hangs over. The river banks reveal sand walls dug not the river's crus. We enter the foothills of the mountain. The houses fade out progressively. We enter the canyons of Bemaraha. We set up our bivouac on a sandy headland. From Akavandra to the canyons it's 200km of navigation, a journey out of time far from civilization which besides the beauty of the landscape and the surrounding flora, will allow you to admire beautiful specimens of birds, herons, teal, egrets, Ducks with humps ... Animals come to refresh themselves on the river bank.
    • Breakfast
    • Lunch
    • Dîner
    • Accomodation
    • Activity
    • Photo
  • Day 7

    • MANAMBOLO RIVER CANOE TRIP
    • 1 to 2 h
    • BEKOPAKA
    arrow_drop_up arrow_drop_down
    In the morning, we will make a small stop along the river to explore a canyon swallowed by the vegetation. We will discover a succession of natural pools dug by the old river crossing of the river. Pools, with crystal clear water that invite us to swim. In the afternoon we continue our canoes shipping and our progress is made in the impressive silence of the canyons where the waters of the river come mix with laterite red to bring an atypical charm to the whole. We reach our camp on the bank of the river drowned under the mango trees. Between 2 and 3 hours of navigation.
    • Breakfast
    • Lunch
    • Dîner
    • Accomodation
    • Activity
    • Photo
  • Day 8

    • 4 to 5 h
    • 34 km about 0 h
    • BEKOPAKA
    arrow_drop_up arrow_drop_down
    In four wheels car, we reach the most beautiful part of the "Tsingy du Bemaraha", an unusual site formed by steep limestone peaks over 40m high, classified World Heritage by UNESCO. Discovery of the national park "Tsingy Bemaraha": deep cricks, caves, canyons and labyrinths through a suspension bridge to reach the roof of Tsingy or gazebo was built and offers a view of the massif. A biodiversity unique to the worlds where lemurs and other endemic specimens live side by side in Madagascar. Back at the end of the day.
    • Breakfast
    • Lunch
    • Dîner
    • Accomodation
    • Activity
    • Photo
  • Day 9

    • BEKOPAKA
    • 200 km about 8 h
    • MORONDAVA
    arrow_drop_up arrow_drop_down
    We take again the track in the direction of Belo on Tsiribihina. The first few kilometres of track crosses a landscape dominated by "satrana" and then a grassy savannah dotted with small villages. Arriving in Belo, we cross the Tsiribihina river by ferry. We continue our journey to Morondava through the dry forest of Kirindy and at the end of the day at the famous "Allée des Baobabs" for sunset. Arrival in the evening. Dinner and overnight at the hotel.
    • Breakfast
    • Lunch
    • Dîner
    • Accomodation
    • Activity
    • Photo
  • Day 10

    • MORONDAVA
    • 480 km about 8 h
    • BETAFO
    arrow_drop_up arrow_drop_down
    Early morning departure to Miandrivazo, a small village on the banks of the Tsiribihina River. Crossing the desert landscapes of the West. Lunch along the way. In the afternoon we leave the desert areas and progress through the green landscapes of the Highlands. Arrival at the end of the day. Reception and installation in the home.
    • Breakfast
    • Lunch
    • Dîner
    • Accomodation
    • Activity
    • Photo
  • Day 11

    • 4 to 5 h
    • BETAFO
    arrow_drop_up arrow_drop_down
    A day of hiking through the typical landscapes of the region. Meeting with the farmers of the Highlands who will introduce you to their culture, their traditional way of life..... At the end of the day, return to the cottage.
    • Breakfast
    • Lunch
    • Dîner
    • Accomodation
    • Activity
    • Photo
  • Day 12

    • BETAFO
    • ANTSIRABE
    • 190 km about 4 h
    • ANTANANARIVO
    arrow_drop_up arrow_drop_down
    Return to Antananarivo by a road that winds its way through a hilly landscape carved by rice terraces... Visit the city of Antsirabe and local artisans. Then we continue on to Ambatolampy, the city of artisanal foundries: visit of a Malagasy aluminium pot factory. Lunch along the way. Arrival in the afternoon, transfer to the airport or your hotel.
    • Breakfast
    • Lunch
    • Dîner
    • Accomodation
    • Activity
    • Photo

Aventure sur la Manambolo

Circuit phare de notre agence, ce voyage randonnée aventure propose la découverte d’une région encore peu connue, située à l’Ouest de Madagascar « Le Menabe ». Que ce soit pour une immersion dans les paysages volcaniques du lac Itasy, barrage naturel formé par ses cratères. Effectuer des randonnées pédestres à travers le massif du Bongolova avec ses formations rocheuses de « Lavaka ». Enfin, continuer la descente en canoë sur le fleuve Manambolo qui serpente cette région sauvage ou s’étend à perte de vue l’imposant massif du Bemaraha et ses célèbres « Tsingy ».

Leader sur ce circuit que nous avons crée et que nous continuons de développer depuis plus de 15ans. Nous offrons toute une logistique adaptée, telle que la formation des guides et des piroguiers pour vous assurer le maximum de confort et de sécurité. Ce circuit vous fera découvrir notre vision du partage et du tourisme solidaire

  • Itinéraires
  • Dates et prix
  • A noter
  • jour 1

    • ANTANANARIVO
    • 2 à 3 h
    • 125 km environ 3 h
    • AMPEFY
    arrow_drop_up arrow_drop_down
    Départ d'Antananarivo par la route de l'Ouest pour rejoindre Ampefy, une petite localité paisible de la région d'Itasy sur fond de paysages volcaniques. Nous pouvons admirer tout le long de la route des petits villages et maisons traditionnels en toits de chaume, les rizières en terrasse... et accéder finalement au grand Lac Itasy. L'après-midi, visite et randonnée pedestre à la découverte de cette région.
    • Petit déjeuner
    • Déjeuner
    • Diner
    • Accomodation
    • Activity
    • Photo
  • Jour 2

    • AMPEFY
    • TSIROANOMANDIDY
    • 170 km environ 7 h
    • BELOBAKA
    arrow_drop_up arrow_drop_down
    Nous reprenons la route au matin, direction la commune de Tsiroanomandidy où nous croisons des convois de charrettes et de zébus qui acheminent leurs récoltes au grand marché de zébus, cette région vivant principalement de l'élevage de bovins. Puis nous empruntons une piste qui traverse un paysage de collines et de vallons avant d'atteindre le village de Belobaka. Nous continuons par une petite piste sinueuse et pénétrons au cœur du massif de Bongolava, un paysage typique de l'Ouest. Nuit en bivouac.
    • Petit déjeuner
    • Déjeuner
    • Diner
    • Accomodation
    • Activity
    • Photo
  • Jour 3

    • BELOBAKA
    • 5 à 6 h
    • BONGOLAVA
    arrow_drop_up arrow_drop_down
    Au petit matin, nous commençons notre trek accompagné de nos porteurs sur des pistes bien tracées à travers des paysages de savane herbeuse et des collines entaillés formé par l'érosion de, les fameux "Lavaka". Occasion aussi pour nous de faire connaissance avec la population locale sur ces pistes qui sont jusqu'ici le seul moyen de déplacement pour rallier les villages et les habitants de cette région reculée du Bongolava qui s'étend sur plus 16 000km².
    • Petit déjeuner
    • Déjeuner
    • Diner
    • Accomodation
    • Activity
    • Photo
  • Jour 4

    • BONGOLAVA
    • 3 à 4 h
    • ANKAVANDRA
    arrow_drop_up arrow_drop_down
    Le cours de la rivière se perd dans son lit de sable, et nous oblige à suivre les piroguiers qui nous indiquent le chenal à suivre. Se resserrant parfois entre deux collines, la rivière longe des petites falaises d'où jaillissent des sources d'eau claire. Des pêcheurs nous proposent leurs poissons. Ici et là, des cultures sur les limons sont visibles sur les berges. Toute la vie du fleuve se déroule sous nos yeux, au rythme languissant de la nature et du courant qui nous emporte. Le paysage se transforme à l'approche du massif du Bemaraha. Nous entrons dans les contreforts de la montagne. Les habitations disparaissent petit à petit. Nous entrons dans les gorges du Bemaraha. Navigation en canoë : 4 heures
    • Petit déjeuner
    • Déjeuner
    • Diner
    • Accomodation
    • Activity
    • Photo
  • Jour 5

    • DESCENTE DE LA MANAMBOLO EN CANOË
    arrow_drop_up arrow_drop_down
    Nous partons au fil de l'eau sur la rivière Manambolo au pied des collines du Bongolava. Le cours de la rivière se perd dans son lit de sable, et nous oblige à suivre les piroguiers qui nous indiquent le chenal à suivre. Se resserrant parfois entre deux collines, la rivière longe de petites falaises d'où jaillissent des sources d'eau claire. Des pêcheurs locaux nous proposent leurs poissons. Ici et là, des cultures sur les limons sont visibles sur les berges. Toute la vie du fleuve se déroule sous nos yeux au rythme languissant de la nature et du courant qui nous emporte.
    • Petit déjeuner
    • Déjeuner
    • Diner
    • Accomodation
    • Activity
    • Photo
  • Jour 6

    • DESCENTE EN CANOË SUR LA RIVIERE MANAMBOLO
    arrow_drop_up arrow_drop_down
    Le paysage se transforme à l'approche du massif du Bemaraha. Les rives laissent apparaitre des murs de sable creusés pas les crus du fleuve. Nous entrons dans les contreforts de la montagne. Les habitations disparaissent petit à petit. Nous entrons dans les gorges du Bemaraha. Nous installons notre bivouac sur un promontoire de sable. Depuis Akavandra aux gorges c'est 200km de navigation, un périple hors du temps loin de la civilisation qui outre la beauté du paysage et de la flore environnante, vous permettra d'admirer de beaux spécimens d'oiseaux, hérons, sarcelles, aigrettes, canards à bosses... Des animaux venus se rafraîchir sur la rive.
    • Petit déjeuner
    • Déjeuner
    • Diner
    • Accomodation
    • Activity
    • Photo
  • Jour 7

    • DESCENTE EN CANOË
    • 1 à 2 h
    • BEKOPAKA
    arrow_drop_up arrow_drop_down
    Le matin, nous ferons une petite halte au bord du fleuve pour explorer une gorge engloutie dans la végétation. Nous découvrirons une succession de piscines naturelles creusées par l'ancien passage du cours d'eau de la rivière. Des piscines, avec de l’eau limpide qui nous incite à la baignade. L’après-midi nous reprenons nos canoës et notre avancée se fait dans le silence impressionnant des gorges où les eaux de la rivière viennent se mélanger au latérite rouge pour apporter un charme atypique à l'ensemble. Nous atteignons notre campement sur la rive du fleuve noyée sous les manguiers. Entre 2 à 3h de navigation.
    • Petit déjeuner
    • Déjeuner
    • Diner
    • Accomodation
    • Activity
    • Photo
  • Jour 8

    • 4 à 5 h
    • 34 km environ 0 h
    • BEKOPAKA
    arrow_drop_up arrow_drop_down
    En 4X4 nous atteignons la plus belle partie du "Tsingy du Bemaraha ", site insolite formé de pics calcaires abruptes de plus de 40m de haut, classé patrimoine mondial par l'UNESCO. Découverte du parc national des « Tsingy du Bemaraha »: crevasses profondes, grottes, canyons et labyrinthes en passant par un pont suspendu pour atteindre le toit des Tsingy ou un belvédère a été aménagé et offre une vue sur le massif. Une biodiversité unique aux mondes où se côtoient les lémuriens et d'autres spécimens endémiques à Madagascar. Retour en fin de journée.
    • Petit déjeuner
    • Déjeuner
    • Diner
    • Accomodation
    • Activity
    • Photo
  • Jour 9

    • BEKOPAKA
    • 200 km environ 8 h
    • MORONDAVA
    arrow_drop_up arrow_drop_down
    Nous reprenons la piste en direction de Belo sur Tsiribihina. Les premiers kilomètres de piste traversent paysage dominé par les « satrana » puis une savane herbeuse parsemée de petits villages. Arrivée à Belo, nous traversons en bac le fleuve Tsiribihina. Nous continuons notre route jusqu’à Morondava à travers la forêt sèche de Kirindy et en fin de journée à la célèbre « Allée des Baobabs » pour le coucher de soleil. Arrivée dans la soirée. Dîner et nuit à l’hôtel.
    • Petit déjeuner
    • Déjeuner
    • Diner
    • Accomodation
    • Activity
    • Photo
  • Jour 10

    • MORONDAVA
    • 480 km environ 8 h
    • BETAFO
    arrow_drop_up arrow_drop_down
    Départ matinal en direction de Miandrivazo, petit village au bord du fleuve Tsiribihina. Traversée des paysages désertiques de l’Ouest. Déjeuner en cours de route. L’après-midi nous quittons les espaces désertiques et progressons dans les paysages verdoyants des Hautes Terres. Arrivée en fin de journée. Accueil et installation chez l’habitant.
    • Petit déjeuner
    • Déjeuner
    • Diner
    • Accomodation
    • Activity
    • Photo
  • Jour 11

    • 4 à 5 h
    • BETAFO
    arrow_drop_up arrow_drop_down
    Journée de randonnée pédestre à travers les paysages typiques de la région. Rencontre avec les paysans des Hautes Terres qui vous feront découvrir leur culture, leur mode de vie traditionnel….. En fin de journée, retour au gîte.
    • Petit déjeuner
    • Déjeuner
    • Diner
    • Accomodation
    • Activity
    • Photo
  • Jour 12

    • BETAFO
    • ANTSIRABE
    • 190 km environ 4 h
    • ANTANANARIVO
    arrow_drop_up arrow_drop_down
    Retour sur Antananarivo par une route qui serpente dans un paysage vallonné entaillé par des rizières en terrasses… Visite de la ville d’Antsirabe et des artisans locaux. Puis nous continuons sur Ambatolampy, la cité des fonderies artisanales : visite d’une fabrique de marmites malgaches en aluminium. Déjeuner en cours de route. Arrivée dans l’après-midi, transfert à l’aéroport ou votre hôtel.
    • Petit déjeuner
    • Déjeuner
    • Diner
    • Accomodation
    • Activity
    • Photo